Thank you to all who supported Proposition 51! 

          It's Official! Proposition 51 Passed with 55.2% of the Vote! 

Proposition 51 - the $9 Billion State School Bond - will fund more projects and will provide matching funds for local bonds.  This will help pass more local bonds.

  1. When Proposition 51 is enacted by the voters, $7 billion will be allocated through the current K-12 State School Facility Program as:
    • $3 billion for K-12 New Construction
    • $3 billion for K-12 Modernization
    • $500 million for Charter Schools
    • $500 million for Career Technical Education
  2. $2 billion for community colleges will be administered by the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office.


More Information:

Proposition 51 Background Information

If you have any questions, please contact CASH staff at 916.448.8577.


We have received endorsements from organizations, statewide leaders and elected officials, business organizations, labor organizations, and community leaders for Proposition 51 - the Kindergarten Through Community College Public Education Facilities Bond Act of 2016

American Council of Engineering Companies, California
American Institute of Architects, California Council
Associated General Contractors of California
Association of California Construction Managers
California Apartment Association
California Association of School Business Officials
California County Superintendents Educational Services Association
California Democratic Party
California Nevada Cement Association
California Housing Consortium
California Republican Party
California Retired Teachers Association
California School Boards Association
California School Nurses Organization

California State Firefighters' Association
California State PTA
California Taxpayers Association
California Young Democrats
Central Valley Education Coalition
Community College League of California
Construction Management Association of America, Southern California Chapter

Construction Employer's Association
Contractors Association of Truckee Tahoe

County School Facilities Consortium

Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley
Faculty Association of California Community Colleges
League of Women Voters of California
Los Angeles County Democratic Party
National Electrical Contractors Association, Northern California Chapter
Rural Community Assistance Corporation
School Energy Coalition
School Services of California, Inc.
Small School Districts’ Association
Southern California Leadership Council
Statewide Educational Wrap Up Program
Western Manufactured Housing Communities Association

Gavin Newsom, Lieutenant Governor of California
Tom Torlakson, California State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Delaine Eastin, Former California State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Jack O’Connell, Former California State Superintendent of Public Instruction
The Honorable John Burton
Joan Buchanan, Former State Assembly Education Committee Chair
Jean Fuller, California Senate Republican Leader
Chad Mayes, California Assembly Republican Leader
Bob Huff, Former California Senate Republican Leader
Kristin Olsen, Former California Assembly Republican Leader
Luis Alejo, Chair of the California Latino Legislative Caucus
Patrick O’Donnell, California Assembly Education Committee Chair
Katcho Achadjian, California State Assembly

Ben Allen, California State Senate
Catharine Baker, California State Assembly
Pat Bates, California State Senate
Eric Bauman, Los Angeles County Democratic Party Chair and California Democratic Party Vice Chair
Tom Berryhill, California State Senate
Frank Bigelow, California State Assembly
Susan Bonilla, California State Assembly
Ian Calderon, California State Assembly
Anthony Cannella, California State Senate
Ling Ling Chang, California State Assembly
Rocky Chávez, California State Assembly
David Chiu, California State Assembly
Jim Cooper, California State Assembly
Bill Dodd, California State Assembly
Cathleen Galgiani, California State Senate
James Gallagher, California State Assembly
Alexandra “Alex” Gallardo-Rooker, California Democratic Party First Vice Chair
Mike Gatto, California State Assembly

Steve Glazer, California State Senate
Lorena Gonzalez, California State Assembly
Shannon Grove, California State Assembly
David Hadley, California State Assembly

Jerry Hill, California State Senate
Young Kim, California State Assembly
Tom Lackey, California State Assembly
Eric Linder, California State Assembly
Evan Low, California State Assembly
Brian Maienschein, California State Assembly
Devon Mathis, California State Assembly
Janet Nguyen, California State Senate
Jim Nielsen, California State Senate
Sharon Runner, California State Senate
Miguel Santiago, California State Assembly
Marc Steinorth, California State Assembly
Eric Swalwell, U.S. House of Representatives
Andy Vidak, California State Senate
Don Wagner, California State Assembly
Scott Wilk, California State Assembly

California Business Roundtable
California Business Properties Association
California Chamber of Commerce
Big Bear Chamber of Commerce
Castro Valley/Eden Area Chamber of Commerce
Crescent City-Del Norte County Chamber of Commerce

East Bay Leadership Council

Family Business Association of California
Fresno Chamber of Commerce
Hayward Chamber of Commerce
Los Altos Chamber of Commerce

Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce
Monterey Peninsula Chamber of Commerce
North Sacramento Chamber of Commerce
Orange County Business Council
Regional Chamber of Commerce-San Gabriel Valley

San Ramon Chamber of Commerce
Sanger Chamber of Commerce

Southern California Leadership Council
West Hollywood Chamber of Commerce

State Building and Construction Trades Council of California
California Association of Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors, National Association
Bricklayers, Tilesetters and Allied Craftworkers Local 3
Contra Costa Building Trades Council
Floor Coverers Local 1237
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 6
Ironworkers Local 155
Kern, Inyo, Mono Building Trades Council
Northeastern, Shasta, Trinity, Lassen, Tehama, Modoc, Siskiyou Building Trades Council
Northern California Carpenters Regional Council
Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 159
San Francisco Building and Construction Trades Council
San Joaquin Building and Construction Trades Council
Sheet Metal Workers Local No. 104
Teamsters Local Union No. 890
United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 364

Valley Building Trades Council

Barbara Bigelow, Board Member, Chawanakee Unified School District
Warren Galletti, Mendocino County Office of Education Superintendent
Clare Gist, Tulare City School District Superintendent
Curt Hagman, San Bernardino County Supervisor
Don Saylor, Yolo County Supervisor
Tim Sbranti, Former Mayor of Dublin
Darren Sylvia, Chawanakee Unified School District Superintendent

About Us:

The Coalition for Adequate School Housing:


1303 J Street, Suite 520 | Sacramento, California 95814 | 916.448.8577